AAWC Awards

2022 Award Nomination Submissions Open

Recognize an outstanding peer or colleague! 
Do you know a professional who deserves to be recognized for their contributions to the wound care profession? Nominate them for one of our 2022 awards!

This year, we are accepting nominations for these awards:

  • Emerging Leader
  • Distinguished Member
  • Outstanding Contribution to Wound Care

Please read the award criteria below, and then complete the nomination form to nominate a current AAWC member for consideration. You may nominate yourself or someone else in the field who you feel meets the criteria. All nominees must be AAWC members. 

All nominations must be submitted before  Friday, August 19 at 11:59 pm ET

2022 AAWC Awards will be presented during the Annual Conference taking place November 10-12 in Salt Lake City, Utah.

If you have any questions, please email [email protected].

Award Criteria

Emerging Leader Award

Recipients are selected by the Awards Committee through peer and Board recommendations and have:

  • Practiced less than 5 years in wound care and demonstrate an understanding of the field
  • Been an AAWC member for at least 2 years
  • Served on a committee and are actively involved in committee work
  • Have not been a Board member
  • Demonstrated support of the AAWC brand and mission
  • Sought ways to be actively involved
  • Demonstrated leadership qualities (speaking, project leader, professionalism)
  • Pursued professional development

Distinguished Members

Each year the AAWC proudly honors one Distinguished Member Award. The award has been bestowed upon many influential and dedicated AAWC members. Selected by the AAWC Awards Committee and approved by the AAWC Board of Directors, the AAWC Distinguished Member Award is given annually to a member who has selflessly volunteered an abundance of their time and talents to the AAWC and has gone "above and beyond the call of duty" to move the Association forward.

Visit the Distinguished Member page for the historical list of recipients.

The Outstanding Contribution to Wound Care

This new award reflects one whom:

  • Has contributed to advancing the practice of wound care
  • Has made an impact in their field of wound care
  • Is an AAWC member in good standing. 

It could be an individual/ Group or Corporation. The award would reflect a wide range of accomplishments, whether in clinical care, industry, research or innovation.

President's Award

Chosen by the AAWC President and awarded once per presidential term, the President's award is bestowed upon an individual who has been most helpful to the President, for whatever reason, during his or her presidency. Selection criteria may include:

  • Support provided specifically to the President during their term
  • Actively assisting or individually mobilizing a strategic AAWC effort
  • An individual who has given time above and beyond normal expectation
  • Overall value / contributions to the AAWC

You Make the Difference Award

This award is selected by the AAWC staff with CEO approval and serves to recognize a member who:

  • Has been a member for a minimum of 3 consecutive years
  • Demonstrates an "extra mile" attitude through their dedication to the AAWC mission and objectives
  • Exudes positivity for the AAWC
  • Regularly refers new members
  • Is "always around"
  • Serves in a periphery manner and shows consistency in commitment to the AAWC

The AAWC is always proud to honor those in our membership community who exemplify the mission of our association in significant ways. The Awards & Recognition Committee thanks the AAWC members who nominated deserving members for the Emerging Leader Award and Distinguished Member in 2020.

Past Award Recipients

2020 Awards

AAWC is pleased to congratulate these members, who were recognized at the 2020 AAWC Virtual Annual Member Meeting in December 2020: 

You Make the Difference

Maria Goddard, MD, CWS,


Marc Jones, DPM,
Outstanding Contribution to
Wound Care

Brian Bucina, DO, CWSP

The Robert A Warriner III 
Memorial Award

Vickie Driver, DPM, 

President’s Circle

Peggy Dotson, RN, BS

 President’s Circle

Jim Haddow, MBA
President’s Circle 

Kara Couch, MS, CRNP, 
AAWC Distinguished 

Greg Bohn, MD, FACS, UHM/ABPM, 

2018 Awards

These AAWC members were recognized at the 2018 AAWC Spring Membership Meeting in Charlotte, North Carolina during SAWC. The AAWC is pleased to congratulate...

Emerging Leader

Emily Greenstein, APRN, CNP, CWON 

President’s Circle Award

Tim Paine, PT
AAWC Distinguished Member
Joy Schank, RN, MSN, ANP, CWOCN